Gelatin in kosher products is typically derived from kosher fish. Kosher approved gelatin will always have certification on the package indicating whether it is from a meat source or from fish, which is considered pareva, or neutral. Kosher food laws indicate that neutral foods such as eggs, fish, vegetables and grains may be eaten with either meat or dairy.
Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs. Gelatin is used in shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics; as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings (such as Jell-O); in candies, marshmallows, cakes, ice cream, and yogurts; on photographic film; and in vitamins as a coating and as capsules, and it is sometimes used to assist in “clearing” wines. Gelatin is not vegan. However, there is a product called “agar agar” that is sometimes marketed as “gelatin,” but it is vegan. It is derived from a type of seaweed.
- Supports skin, hair and nail growth
- Good for joints and can help joint recovery
- Can help tighten loose skin (like the kind you get after having four babies in five years…)
- Can improve digestion since it naturally binds to water and helps food move more easily though the digestive track
- Rumored to help improve cellulite
- Great source of dietary collagen (side note: collagen is too large to be absorbed by the skin, so those skin creams are pretty useless… get it internally and use coconut oil for lotion!)
- Source of protein (though not a spectacular one) but its specific amino acids can help build muscle.
None are known. Please double check with your pharmacist.
None are recorded.
Source: Othodox-jews.com, http://www.orthodox-jews.com/kosher-gelatin.html#ixzz457glWd00