- Pea protein is an animal-free supplement made from extracting the soluble pea protein from yellow split peas. Pea protein is entirely plant-based. This means it contains absolutely no animal products or animal byproducts.
- Pea Protein is low in fat and carbohydrates and free of soy, gluten and lactose. These attributes deem pea protein suitable for those who suffer from food allergies and food sensitivities.
- Pea protein has a high biological value, meaning your body absorbs it easily.
- Pea protein also provides the body with a substantial supply of beneficial Amino acids. Pea protein delivers large amounts of the essential branched-chain amino acids, L-Isoleucine, L-Valine, L-Arginine and L-Lysine.
- Consuming pea protein after a hard workout could prove beneficial as a means of restoring muscle mass.
- Food Allergy Alternative: If you avoid baked goods and pasta because you’re allergic to eggs, pea protein may be the solution. According to the Northern Pulse Growers Association, pea concentrates and isolates can replace eggs in cupcakes, cookies, waffles and ravioli while maintaining flavor and texture. You may also enjoy pea products as a protein source if you have a milk or soy allergy.
Source: Carrera, Amy Long, “What Are the Benefits of Pea Protein?”, Jun 11, 2014, www.livestrong.com/article/280194-what-are-the-benefits-of-pea-protein/