Sodium starch glycolate is a white powder that doesn’t really smell or taste like anything



Pharmaceutical companies add sodium starch glycolate to capsules and tablets to help make them disintegrate and dissolve better, making it easier for your body to absorb the medication. It does this by absorbing water quickly so the pill swells and breaks apart into small pieces. It can also be used to help form gels.


People who are gluten intolerant or who have celiac disease may experience adverse effects if they consume medications made with a wheat-based sodium starch glycolate. These medications contain gluten. Look for medications labeled gluten-free or call the manufacturer to verify which type of sodium starch glycolate is in a medication to avoid accidentally ingesting gluten. Those with a corn allergy should also take steps to determine the source of sodium starch glycolate before using medications that contain this substance.



None are recorded.

Other names



Source: LiveStrong,,
















































































Leave a Reply

Has this product helped you or someone you know? Tell us about it:

Note: Your email address will be kept private, and will NOT show with your statement.